About Us

District Information

The Fort Lee Public Schools serve the residents of Fort Lee Borough in Bergen County, New Jersey. The Borough, situated on the Hudson River, is bisected by the New Jersey approaches to the George Washington Bridge, which carries traffic across upper Manhattan. Fort Lee Borough encompasses approximately 2.6 square miles and is considered a suburban community.

The Fort Lee Public Schools are committed to:

  • providing challenging instruction for each student, differentiated to address his/her intellectual, social and emotional needs;
  • following best instructional practices that engage all students in relevant learning activities; and
  • developing students who are prepared to be “First in the World” in global competition.

In addition, the Fort Lee Public Schools are continuously working to achieve our district vision as well as toward achieving the NJ Core Curriculum Content Standards with fiscal responsibility. As a result, Fort Lee High School was ranked 72nd in the State of New Jersey, according to New Jersey Monthly magazine's annual report in 2010.

To fulfill our belief that classroom instruction is the most important element of the education of a child, teachers in the Fort Lee Public Schools are involved in extensive and rigorous professional development. Our teachers strive to improve their skills through attendance at district led courses in Language Arts, Brain Based Learning, and Multiple Intelligences to name a few. Teachers also attend local colleges and universities to pursue higher learning in their fields of instruction.

We are committed to continuous professional development. Professional development is the key to improving instruction. Our teachers work together in teams to share their talents and skills with one another. We see this so effectively implemented in our mentoring program, but we also see it in lesson study groups, curriculum mapping teams and grade level or department teams. Our teachers are sharing their collective experience to develop an instructional model based on best practices.

Quality schools need committed parents. Our active PTA’s and other parent groups are valued for the extra support they provide to our students and our schools. We look forward to having you join in the ongoing efforts to keep the Fort Lee Public Schools at the forefront of education.

Name

Title

Email

Phone

Kenneth Rota

Superintendent of Schools

krota@flboe.com

201-585-4612 x:7510

Sharon Amato

Director of Curriculum & Instruction

samato@flboe.com

201-585-4612 x:7513

Haqquisha Q. Taylor

Business Administrator

htaylor@flboe.com

201-585-4612 x:7512

Board Secretary

Lameka Augustin

Assistant Business Administrator

laugustin@flboe.com

201-585-4612 x:7502

Diana Davis

Director of Special Services

ddavis@flboe.com

201-585-4620 x:1801

Lauren Carrubba

Director of School Counseling

lcarrubba@flboe.com

201-585-4675 x:6511

Services K-12

Mike Raftery

Director of Athletics

mraftery@flboe.com

201-585-4675 x:6504

Jaime Murphy

Director of Human Resources

jmurphy@flboe.com

201-585-4612 x:7508

Tammi-Ann Gil

Human Resources Office

tgil@flboe.com

201-585-4612 x.7516

Jack DeNichilo

Supervisor, Buildings & Grounds

jdenichilo@flboe.com

201-585-4675 x:6525

Scott Bendul

Supervisor, Buildings & Grounds

sbendul@flboe.com

201-585-4612 x:7525

Jason M. Ruggiero

District Technology Coordinator

jruggiero@flboe.com

201-585-4675 x:6505

Lauren Glynn

High School Principal

lglynn@flboe.com

201-585-4675 x:6501

Joseph Finizio

High School Assistant Principal

jfinizio@flboe.com

201-585-4675 x:6537

William Diaz

High School Assistant Principal

wdiaz@flboe.com

201-585-4675 x:6536

Robert Daniello

Middle School Principal

rdaniello@flboe.com

201-585-4660 x:5501

Gina Ruesga

MiddleSchool Assistant Principal

gruesga@flboe.com

201-585-4660 x:5503

Rosemary Giacomelli

School No. One Principal

rgiacomelli@flboe.com

201-585-4620 x:1501

Marianela Martin

School No. Two & Early

mmartin@flboe.com

201-585-4630 x:2501

Childhood Center Principal

Jay Berman

School No. Three Principal

jberman@flboe.com

201-585-4640 x:3501

Patrick Ambrosio

School No. Four Principal

pambrosio@flboe.com

201-585-4650 x:4501

John Brennan

Elementary Asst. Principal

 

 

Diane Baker

K-12 Instructional Supervisor

dbaker@flboe.com

201-585-4612 x:7509

ELA, SS K-8

Peter Crawley

K-12 Supervisor of Mathematics

pcrawley@flboe.com

201-585-4612 x:7517

& Science

Michele Carlor

Supervisor of ELA (7-12)

mcarlor@flboe.com

201-585-4612 x:7511

Social Studies (7-12)

ESL/Bilingual

World Languages (K-12)

David Cuozzo

District Anti-Bullying Coordinator

dcuozzo@flboe.com

201-585-4675 x:6612

Fort Lee Emergency

Police, Fire, Ambulance

 

201-461-8000


 
Important Links
Highly Qualified Teacher Survey
New Jersey by the Numbers
School Funding: Local Aid Data